Triumph Is… (From the Birds of Wakodahatchee Wetlands, Florida)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Triumph is so many things, big and little, but mostly I believe, it’s a person’s attitude towards life. Triumph is reflected in how we live, our beliefs, priorities and goals, how we overcome the myriad of challenges that come our way, and in how we treat others.

Initially, I wanted to post a gallery of people whose triumphant attitudes have influenced me. Well, that presented just a few problems.

First, I don’t have photos of all of those who have been participating in Photo 101 and have been incredibly creative, supportive, and great fun to meet and learn with and from. We have triumphed together – THANK YOU! I’m going to miss you and this class. Hopefully, we will share other photo adventures in the near future.

Second, I started looking through photos of people whom I consider to have or be living their lives triumphantly: grandparents, parents, siblings, husband, son, nephews, aunts and uncles, cousins, friends, the people I work with, our clients, mentors…you get the picture (:-)). Far too many to post and then there is the not-so-small issue of consent forms.

My triumphant solution is the slide show above. Last June we visited the Wakodahatchee Wetlands in Florida. It is an amazing place hidden in very urban Palm Beach County. The name, in the Seminole Indian language means “created waters.” It is used to reclaim highly treated wastewater, that is further filtered naturally at the rate of about two million gallons a day through the wetlands and then used for irrigation purposes.

Over 140 different types of birds have made the wetlands their home. Thanks to a large SD card and extra batteries, I took hundreds of photos of birds as I clicked my way along the three-quarter mile board walk that meanders through the different eco-zones. Breeding season was over, but the chicks (some still in nests) and juvenile offspring were everywhere! It was paradise. Every few steps there was something new to see and photograph. I can’t wait to go back!

This afternoon, I revisited Wakodahatchee Wetlands and, with great difficulty, pruned the number of photos, assembled those that best express facets of “Triumph” into a slide show.

Please enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Triumph Is… (From the Birds of Wakodahatchee Wetlands, Florida)

  1. I totally agree. Life is what you make it! I like the “time to reflect” photo. Very nice slide show.

  2. well said. great bird photos. must be a lovely wetlands to visit.

  3. Loved your hangin’ out with friends!

Leave a Reply

